After months of criss-crossing the province, looking for the Western Cape’s best agri-workers, all 16 regional winners have now been chosen. The competition, sponsored by Shoprite since 2012, aims to recognise the hard work and dedication of the province’s agricultural workforce.
The full list of winners:
Swartland: Isak Bartman, foreman at Kloovenburg
Overberg: Alfred Dyantyi a foreman Frankenhof farm
Langeberg: Odile Adams, HR administrator at Graham Beck Wines
Garden Route: Isaac Ntoto, technical manager at Professional Horticultural Consulting
Olifantsrivier: Brendon McKenna, production manager at Radyn farm
Hex Valley: Petrus Adolf, middle management at Nirvana
Klein Karoo: Andrew Jafta a general worker at Le Mirage
EGVV: Justin Jooste, a middle manager at Moreson Trust Farm
Witzenberg: Manuel Mackensie, a pest control operator from Donkerbos farm, Citrusdal
Piket Bo Berg: Marthinus Swarts, the irrigation manager at Heldervue Estates.
Durbanville: Tawfeeq Brinkhus, who works in animal production at Chamomile farming.
Stellenbosch: Joseph Muller production manager at Meerlust farm.
Central Karoo: Johannes Bezuidenhout, a manager at Rondawel farm
Berg River: Jerome Samson, a sprayer operator at Irene farm.
Franschhoek: Christie Davids from Anthonij Rupert farms.
Breede River: Junior manager at Bellevue farm, Jan Maritz

CAPTION: Ms Tania van der Merwe (Freshmark/Shoprite) – Mr Petrus Adolf (Hex Valley Regional Winner) – Mrs Gertrude Jacobs (Acting Director: FWD: WCDoA)  –